Am I The Only One Who's Feeling That Sinking Sensation?

Discuss Current Events, Politics, Theology, Science, Society, Philosophy, Culture, etc. Please stay on-topic. Serious discussions/debates only. No personal attacks.
LeTronique
the unproven

Am I The Only One Who's Feeling That Sinking Sensation?

Postby LeTronique » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:19 pm

I guess a bit of backstory is in order.

Politics has always been a strong part of my life. My mother was a diplomat and made her way to ambassador before retiring and spending her days watching HGTV and the Kardashians. I studied political science for undergrad and grad school and was always subscribed to the belief that there were different kinds of people with different kinds of talents and each person contributed to better society. But most importantly, a desire to seek knowledge would always win out.Ignorance would constantly perish. After Drumpf won, I've found my view shaken and probably destroyed at this point. I actually fear the future of this country. I'm not white so I actually stand to lose my way of life. My girlfriend is getting an IUD, in case Mike Pence, the man who hated Planned Parenthood so much that he caused an AIDS epidemic in a small town in Indiana, decides to outlaw birth control or even worse, abortion. Hate crimes are on the rise in a big way and people ignore facts on a daily basis. The Kremlin is basically celebrating Drumpf's victory and no one cares. In a matter of hours, everyone lost their goddamn minds.

So, here's my question. Am I the only one who actually, seriously, honestly feels like this is it for the USA?
If I know what I know, then losing isn't learning to be lost, its learning to know when you're lost.
Phara
The Glue To This Bitch!

Re: Am I The Only One Who's Feeling That Sinking Sensation?

Postby Phara » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:34 pm