Best Website Hosting and Well Software??

The place for discussion of hardware, software and mobile apps.
Skywalker
I Feel Ya Sista... Not in that way

Postby Skywalker » Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:29 pm

For my master's degree, I need to create a website, so which means I need to build one. It has been years since I have done this. I can use Omeka, which is something that a lot of public historians like myself use, but I personally dislike it. The site is small; everything has to be tagged in the Dublin Core, jobcorps.omkea.net, and historyiscool.omeka.net are the two sites that I have created, one while I was an undergrad (Job Corps), the other a grad student.

So I am looking for software that can help me build a site that can be utilized by educators to access lesson plans, and other information on the Vietnam War. There will be videos, and maybe music. As the whole topic of the thesis is using film and music to teach the Vietnam War. So I am currently reading up on my copyright law.

I am just after recommendations of software, free is always a plus, but I can spend some money buying it if it is not too expensive.

I do apologize if this is posted in the wrong place, but figure it is kind of like hardware, but the softer side.

Thanks for any help.
Zombie
Wizard Behind The Curtain

Postby Zombie » Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:00 pm

If I understood correctly... A Wordpress install would be a good start with plenty of plugins to create what you are looking for. If you need any assistance let me know ..

Z.
Skywalker

Postby Skywalker » Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:15 pm

Thanks for the input, I tend to ramble. It is a side effect of writing history papers.

Yea, I am just looking for an easy way of creating a website for educators to use.

Would using Wordpress itself be an easy and straightforward solution?
Corgimom
3 hours later...

Postby Corgimom » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:10 am